Tick Fucking Tock

Guess what? I had to get another Fit-Note! Yes, after being told that my ESA was confirmed and that all that was wanting was for The Decision Maker to decide which group I was in. I have been waiting for this to be confirmed by letter. Then, last Thursday, I got the regular ‘Your Fit-Note is running out…’ letter. As always, it arrives 1 day before the weekend, 3 or 4 days after it’s sent, and with only 2 days for me to get a new Fit-Note. I expected the letter, but I was really, really hoping that it would not come. I hate getting Fit-Notes because my GP has been a very old man for the last 6 months, an old man who has difficulty using his printer.

In addition to getting the Fit-Note letter, and NOT getting the ESA confirmation letter, I also got a new drug in my monthly prescription. It’s an Anti-Psychotic organised by my Mental Health Nurse (MHN) and my old Psychiatrist. With the agreement of my MHN, I decided not to take the pills until after my WCA, even though they were prescribed in September. But they turned up in my medications bag without any advice on how to take them. So on Monday morning I went to my GP to a) get a Fit-Note and b) get advice on how to take the pills. In addition to a) and b) I also got c) a talking-to by the Practice Manager. I had asked my GP for a supporting letter for my ESA claim. I actually wrote the letter myself and delivered it to the Surgery to be turned into Doctorese. It was going to cost me £45. This was all arranged and I was going to get my letter after my WCA in order to support any appeal etc. I might need to make. But my WCA has been put off 4 times so the Surgery have got antsy. The Manager gave me a talking-to about how it would be better to have the letter before an appeal, about how that is what is best, even though that is not what I’ve been advised and when I first mentioned a letter to him some months ago, he seemed to have no f*cking idea of what I was speaking. Now, considering how many times I’ve asked him for help, and how he was ignorant about WCA/ESA etc. a mere 2 months ago, I found this a little irksome. The Practice Manager has always been an arse to me. Indeed, Doctors in general have been arseholes to me, and have treated me as either an idiot or a child. It does not sit well with me. So, after the Manager had his chat, I saw the GP. Lucky for me, and the Surgery, it was not the Old Man Who Can’t Use The Printer. It was a bright, young, female locum. Now, I am positive towards young Doctors – they’ve not been too shit to me in the past. Indeed, all my progress in getting my ears sorted, my mental health addressed, physio and pain management organised this year is due to a Young Female Doctor.

Monday’s Young GP was gentle and as helpful as she could be. She wrote the Fit-Note without a qualm, checked the new meds against the old (for reactions) but could not tell how to take them. She went through all the letters on screen (I could see) and there was nothing there from the Psych. She had a note about the meds being added to my Prescription, but no directions for use. She told me to talk to the head of the practice. I decided that since I was seeing my Mental Health Nurse today (Wednesday) I would wait to see her before approaching the Head Honcho GP –  who I don’t rate.

Pharma Christmas came early:

14724524_10211048567230837_294855178373692949_n

So, what happened?

Monday: after getting the Fit-Note (ending in January) I photocopied it and sent it to the DWP. Today I saw my MHN who advised me how to take my new pills, warning me that they might make me (even more) sleepy. 10 days of 50mg and then up to 100mg. In addition to my 40mg of Citalopram, my Diazepam, Amitriptyline and Propanolol etc. Walking Pharmacy, me. Then, as I left my appointment I got a text from the DWP. They had received my Fit-Note, my ESA would be continued and I would not need to send them any more Fit-Notes. Huh? What does this actually mean? Have I been awarded the full ESA? What is going on?

Who the Fuck Knows.

In addition to my MHN appointment I also visited my local Church to put in the November Dead List – Catholics use November to remember their dead – you list them and their names are read out in Mass. I’ve had a ‘dodgy’ stomach for a few days. Not pooing, just cramps and feeling sick/ dizzy. I seizured on Monday morning and felt groggy all that day and Tuesday. Today I’ve felt icky in my stomach with lots of cramping. Tonight I’ll be taking the new pill before going to bed. I’ve not mentioned its name before, so here we go: Quetiapine.

4 thoughts on “Tick Fucking Tock

      • Bah ha ha. I can’t comment, i’m the worst for doing that. I’ll swear blind i told someone something and then the penny finally drops that i proooobably really meant to tell them and forgot! Yay for clearing out the house though?

        Like

  1. ‘I put it on the board’, what? What did you put on the board old man? What board? He means the calendar. And what does it mean – the name of the skip company. Jeez. We’ve been clearing and renovating the house for over a year. It was all systems go, but when Mum got really sick it had to stop. And Dad and I are fucking rubbish house keepers. However, we do now have a carpet in the living room (17 months since the last was removed). We’ve fixed the timer on the heating (just in fucking time), I’ve found a light fitting I like for the renovated bedroom, we have a skip and we have a very healthy man coming to put things in it. Oh, and for 2 days running I’ve eaten a dinner which had vegetables and not just pasta or cake. But we’ve lost the hoover tube. Well, he’s lost the hoover tube.

    Like

Leave a Reply

