The Business Ending

In a follow up to my last shit-filled post…

I thought the diarrhea had gone: it hadn’t. I had to take off one of my volunteering days (4 hrs) and just ‘go with the flow’. I wasn’t right until Sunday. Holy Hell did I feel bad. I still don’t know what brought it on – what I ate or didn’t that wrecked my guts, but I’ve been on cereal ever since. And I’ve started pro-biotics. I did try them years ago, but they made me ill, however this time a very knowledgable friend of mine suggested I make sure they were dairy free – and voila! my stomach feels better. My bowels are still being random, but I don’t hurt inside all the time. I don’t have a ‘dairy problem’ that I know of, but maybe my guts are more sensitive than I imagined. Me being me, my body is not being kind – you stop having cramps because of your bowels and along comes Menses. Ahhh, the Red Wedding. And what a jolly time we are having here in Bowermanland. My joints are burning – ankles and knees – I want to sleep for England, and I even managed to go to bed without putting any sanitary protection on AT ALL because I was so tired. Though this is the first time I’ve done this (another first after last weeks tube debacle) and though I believed I would be horrified, it was actually quite useful: I bleed heavily – I have anemia, I’m a big lass, I’ve always had 5-7 day periods- I’ve always been scared of just bleeding, but now I’m not as scared. 6 hours in bed (bed usually means bloodbath) and I was not a horror show. A good learning curve.

My facial cysts are still being bastards – very slow to shift at the moment, a bit of my tooth stump (one of the right upper incisors) broke off and I had to go to the dentist. It looks like I’ll have to have the roots removed. Calligraphy whupped me again – I was already exhausted after the stomach aches and cramps – so gaining upper body pain from the calligraphy was just a bonus. And I’m writing this rather than do my home work. I’m back wearing a wrist brace because my old RSI decided to come back a few weeks ago after a calligraphy class. So everything is just a snowball of little annoyances. I’ve not been to an art show in quite a while now, but on Tuesday (post dentist) I did manage to get to the late night opening of the Hunterian Museum in London, the last before it closes for 3 years for renovation. I was very pleased I managed to make it – that I made the effort. My womb and my knees didn’t want me to get there, but when I did, I saw versions of them in jars, which made me chuckle. I last went either as a student (2004) or as a trainee librarian (2007). One of the first things you’d see is an example* of a spine and hips with kyphoscoliosis. I remember when I first saw it, it made me feel awful, sick, embarrassed – my face went red- because that was me. But this time I did not feel like that at all. That is the difference between 20-something me and 36 year old me. I didn’t balk at anything that I saw that was related to me. Even when I heard other people go ‘ewww’. That is the glory of aging. That was a good reason to drag my womb to Lincoln’s Inn. A reason I had not considered.

*An actual 18th century skeleton wired together. Just a trunk, sitting there.

https://www.rcseng.ac.uk/museums-and-archives/hunterian-museum/

Leave a Reply

